November 12 - 27, 2019

Kristina Michalski: SPIEL

In 2019's second exhibition the Malerkapelle presents works by Kristina Michalski relating to the theme "Spiel" ("Game" or "Play" in German).
The artist explains the exhibition as an homage and nostalgic glorification of childhood.
She addresses the urge to play, the loss of innocence and the painful lack of abandon. The Malerkapelle becomes an archive of childhood. "SPIEL" is a new chapter from Michalski's "indeterminate archive" which comprises all of her works that she understands as fleeting moments or snapshots in time: Permanently changing, yet undefined and only for a short amount of time.
Kristina Michalski was born in 1984 in Greiz, grew up near Nordheim and went to the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Braunschweig. In 2010 she finished her studies as a Scientist of Art with a magister (master's degree) and in 2011 she received her diploma in Fine Art.
Her "indeterminate archive", which conceptually seeks to find connections between images and language, has been on display in various exhibitions.
She works as an art educator at the Allgemeine Konsumverein in Braunschweig and is a member of the einRaum gallery.

Website of the artist
Exhibition flyer
Opening Speech by Lino Heissenberg (in German)

Images & flyer courtesy of the artist.


September 26 - October 4, 2019

n.bodyproblem: DIGITAL AFTERLIFE

"Digital Afterlife" was based on the anonymous blog n.bodyproblem, which went online in 2018 and, at the time the show opened, had over 250 images on display.
It is an anonymous project, but the blog is not focused on this anonymity. The website does not build a portfolio for an artist in the classical sense - with name, vita, and a face - but consciously operates in futility and without a set goal, as many Deviantart- and Tumblr-accounts managed by private individuals who don't pursue a career as an artist do. The blog itself is to be understood as a work in itself.
n.bodyproblem is an experiment that mixes and re-mixes classical digitized drawings with polaroids, digital photographs and images created in video game editors as well as with online-specific media like glitch art and art requests.
The show itself, too, is part of n.bodyproblem's body of work, by extending the blog: "Digital Afterlife" is the state in which the works have been put since the blog's inception. They either have been removed from the artist's own professional portfolio or have been created exclusively for the blog and thus have only been availailable in a digital format ever since. Now the works are back on display in the physical world, but in a manner that resembles an online feed. In general, exhibitions are more valuable and a more legitimate kind of exposure for an artist than a website or blog, but "Digital Afterlife" rejects that paradigm by playfully dismantling it: The use- and worthless online pieces are back on display, but they'll never hang on a wall. The exhibition is rather a re-enactment of the blog instead of the blog simulating ideal exhibition conditions or existing purely for archival and documentary purposes.

The meaning of "Digital Afterlife" has become inverted: The digital afterlife of one's own data on Facebook, twitter etc. has been discussed on many levels, from its intimate and interpersonal to its legal and commercial dimensions, but n.bodyproblem does not host facsimiles or data relating to deceased individuals or art that has an existence outside the world wide web. The works, outside the internet, would be dead, and are shared openly and without attribution to any legal name. The digital afterlife is the only life these works ever had.

Website of the artist

Image courtesy of the artist.


1 
archiv

12. - 27. November 2019

Kristina Michalski: SPIEL

In der zweiten Ausstellung des Jahres 2019 zeigte die Malerkapelle eine Arbeitsreihe Kristina Michalskis zum Thema "Spiel".
Die Künstlerin begreift die Ausstellung als eine Hommage und nostalgische Verklärung der Kindheit.
Kristina Michalski thematisiert die Lust am Spielen, das Verlieren des unschuldigen Blicks, das schmerzliche Vermissen der Unbekümmertheit. Die Malerkapelle wird zum Archiv der Kindheit. Die Ausstellung "SPIEL" bildet ein weiteres Kapitel aus ihrem „unbestimmten Archiv“, das alle ihre Werke beinhaltet, die sie als flüchtige Augenblicke oder Momentaufnahmen versteht: Stets im Wandel, jedoch undefiniert und nur für kurze Zeit.
Kristina Michalski wurde 1984 im thüringischen Greiz geboren, wuchs bei Northeim auf und studierte in Braunschweig an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste. Sie schloss 2010 das Studium der Kunstwissenschaften mit dem Magister ab und erwarb 2011 das Diplom der Freien Kunst.
In zahlreichen Ausstellungen zeigte sie bereits ihr 'unbestimmtes Archiv', das konzeptuell auf der Verbindung von Bild und Sprache beruht.
Sie arbeitet zudem als pädagogische Mitarbeiterin, als Kunstvermittlerin im Allgemeinen Konsumverein und ist Mitglied der einRaum Galerie in Braunschweig.

Website der Künstlerin
Flyer zur Ausstellung
Eröffnungsrede von Lino Heissenberg

Bilder & Flyer von der Künstlerin zur Verfügung gestellt.


26. September - 4. Oktober 2019

n.bodyproblem: DIGITAL AFTERLIFE

"Digital Afterlife" baut auf dem anonymen Blog n.bodyproblem auf, der 2018 online gestellt wurde und auf dem zum Zeitpunkt der Ausstellung über 250 Bilder online waren.
Es ist ein anonymes Projekt, aber der Fokus liegt nicht spezifisch auf der Anonymität. Die Seite baut kein Portfolio für eine Künstlerpersönlichkeit im klassischen Sinne auf - mit Name, Gesicht, Vita und sorgfältig kuratiertem Portfolio - sondern operiert bewusst "nutzlos" und ergebnisoffen wie viele Deviantart- und Tumblr-Accounts von Privatleuten, die mit ihren Arbeiten nicht das übergeordnete Ziel einer Künstlerkarriere verfolgen. Der Blog selbst ist als künstlerische Arbeit zu verstehen.
n.bodyproblem ist ein Experimentierfeld und mischt klassische digitalisierte Zeichnungen mit Polaroids, Digitalfotografien und in Videospielen entstandenen Bildern als auch mit online-spezifischen Inhalten wie Glitch Art und Art Requests.
Auch die Ausstellung selbst ist eine Arbeit, indem sie den Blog erweitert: "Digital Afterlife" ist der Zustand, in dem die Arbeiten sich seit Gründung des Blogs befinden. Sie sind entweder aus dem eigentlichen professionellen Portfolio entfernt oder eigens für den Blog erstellt worden und dementsprechend seit ihrer Publikation ausschließlich online verfügbar. Nun werden die Arbeiten wieder physisch ausgestellt, allerdings in einer Darstellungsform, die einem Online-Feed nachempfunden ist. Ausstellungen werden allgemein als wertvoller, da legitimer, als Online-Präsenzen angesehen. "Digital Afterlife" spielt damit, dass die wertlosen und nutzlosen Arbeiten aus dem Internet wieder in einem Ausstellungsraum präsentiert werden, aber den Weg zurück an die Wand finden sie nicht. Die Ausstellung ist hier eher eine Nachstellung des Blogs als dass, wie sonst üblich, die Online-Präsenz eine Annäherung an die physische Ausstellungsform und nur zu dokumentarischen oder archivarischen Zwecken vorhanden ist.

Die Bedeutung des Begriffs "Digital Afterlife" wird damit invertiert: Das digitale Nachleben der eigenen Daten auf Facebook, twitter etc. ist seit Jahren Diskussionsthema sowohl für die Privatwirtschaft als auch für Gerichte. Auf n.bodyproblem werden aber keine auf eine verstorbene Person hinweisende Daten aufbereitet, gesichert und gespeichert, sondern andernfalls tote Arbeiten offen und leicht zugänglich geteilt. Das "Digital Afterlife" ist das einzige Leben, das diese Arbeiten bislang hatten.

Website des Künstlers

Bilder vom Künstler zur Verfügung gestellt.


1 
archiv